Several months ago, I promised to blog about using things in unusual way, especially things that folks normally throw away or don’t consider useful.

I got a gallon of green paint, free.  Usually, I like green and there’s hardly a wall in this house that doesn’t have some green on it somewhere.  No problem, right?  It’s my favorite color.  The natural world is full of it.

This green forces me to test myself, to see if I can make the free paint fit in with some of the special junk I’ve been hauling around for years.  I always seem to have ideas in my head, using junk most people would throw away.

I’m sure Mark would prefer not to haul my junk around the world.

So, to my husband’s chagrin and a bit of my own,  my daughter and I painted the lower half of the bathroom this green.

2013-03-02 12.17.34

So, what do you think of the

FREE

GREEN

PAINT

now?

Actually, I’d wear this green, but on the bathroom wall, I really had to work it.

We painted the upper part of the wall white (it was a pale orange) and I decided to make a border of shells I’d picked up on the beach.  With my trusty glue gun, a couple of glue sticks and my manual dexterity, I went to work.

Why should I buy anything when shells work perfectly here?

2013-03-02 12.17.34  Another month or so and these olive shells will be washing ashore by the thousands and I’ll complete the walls.

Looking at plain white walls isn’t my thing, so I painted these old wrought aluminum panels from a 50’s screen door and hung them on the wall.

2013-03-02 12.17.52

Here’s a close up. I’ve been saving these for about ten years.  No shell border yet.

2013-03-02 12.18.22

Now I had another white wall over the toilet.  I had my excuse to go to the thrift store to see if I could spot something suitable.  I found a fantastic oil painting for a whole $7.00!

It was hidden behind all kinds of not so nice stuff, and when I asked the clerk if it was there to hide a hole in the wall, we went over to take a look.

He reached for it, it fell to the floor behind the desk and he thought that was too bad, he couldn’t see it, aw, that’s too bad.  Not too bad for me!

2013-03-02 12.16.14

 I got on my hands and knees and pulled it out from in back of the desk.  Score!!

I like oil paintings without frames, especially the older ones.  However, I thought I might try putting some of my super sized barnacles around the corners of the frame.

What do you think?

2013-03-02 12.16.28

That didn’t seem quite enough, so I remembered the vintage swizzle sticks in the shape of fish and glued them over the painting!

2013-03-02 12.17.09

With that done, I hung a vintage wood shelf with wrought iron scrolled accents, below the painting, just above the toilet tank.

On the shelf, I placed one of my funky paper art pieces, just for fun.

2013-03-02 12.19.05

That’s as far as I’ve been able to go so far, with the

Free Green Paint.

 

