These, and the following words, are the first ones I’ve written in over three weeks, not including personal correspondence and documents necessary for my bank.

What I find amazing and delightfully surprising is that folks are still reading my blog posts.  I suppose some things never get old.

What have I been doing?  Plenty.

I’ve written in my head – yeah, yeah, I know, it’s not writing, it’s thinking.  Let me rationalize it all by saying if I don’t think, I won’t write.

A few weeks ago, I did some sweater surgery.  One of the projects was a pair of these –

2013-01-18 14.17.23

I met with the woman who’s working on the raffle quilt for the dogs at the shelter.  We talked about the project and it’s a go!  Here are some of the fabrics I pulled for the quilt.

2013-02-06 16.23.30

I worked feverishly to make a quilt for Mark’s new grand-daughter, who just happened to arrive a few days after the quilt reached its new home.  Whew…

We decided to refinance our house.  That’s not fun.  I’m thinking about mailing the bank one of these, so they can look where the sun won’t shine.

big_thumb_cree-flashlightAnd in between the hoops I’m jumping through, I found these.  Can you guess who left these for me in the front yard?

2013-01-03 13.33.36

Add into the mix, a healthy dose of house hunting with my daughter.  She’s found one, and it’s an REO property. With that are many EXTRA hoops to jump through.  We’re getting plenty of exercise around here.

hoops

Of course, this leads me to think of the dog we adopted and the hoops she’ll be jumping through in our home made agility course.  At this moment, she’s next to one of the bunny cages, they’re on one end, in plain view, and she’s staring into their hiding spot, looking for the invisible bunnies.  Brilliant!!

dog and bun

We can easily see the above happening in the near future.

Muriel has already licked a couple of bunny heads and though some are terrified of her,

a few have told her to bugger off.

It’s nearly tax time, and we’re going to pay and pay big.  Usually, I like big things, like big ice cream cones, giant redwood trees and enormously hilarious jokes of my making. We didn’t realize that no state taxes withheld from Mark’s pension and our glorious state of California will be squeezing hard, making us feel very, very small.

caltaxesSpring’s coming, though.  The wild violets blooming, squirrels running the fence, quail are calling for mates in the distance, and the sun is beginning to shine over us, and not behind our trees, so there are things to rejoice.

We’ve had lots of trips to the beach – the winter’s my favorite time there. I find really cool stuff, and plan to share some surprises with you.

What do you think of THIS?

2013-01-03 13.39.10

My son is moving from the states to Peru, permanently, in two days.  We’ve talked a bit and will do again tomorrow.  His family is there, and through a turn of events, he is free to go and be with them, love them and share his everyday life with them.

I started on my genealogical research again and have found some interesting characters.  It’s kind of fun to know that this guy, Peter II Capet King of Constantinople Courtenay, 1161-1219, is in the mix!  Seems like a friendly sort, eh?

Petrus2

And this guy –

Andrew_II_Hungar

Andrew II of Hungary

And I won’t forget a woman.  She seem nice.  😀

Margaret I, Countess of Flanders

Margaret I, Countess of Flanders

I happen to like the idea that “I” as I am, would not be, without each and every character.

Regarding getting my books published – I must seek help. Guidance through the self-publishing game is paramount to my success as a writer.  I will continue to blog, but more time dedicated to turning my thoughts into published words takes precedence.

fbone

My funny bone tickles, and my pensive thoughts lurk at the surface of my brain.

I have to go laugh at something and dream of finding feathers.

Thank you for reading.

Oh, the feathers?  From the Western Flicker.

Only in flight can the orange feathers be seen.

Photo taken outside my ‘picture’ window.

2013-01-11 09.56.45

