Keeping my mind occupied means keeping my hands occupied.

With a good supply of high quality sweaters of all sizes, I decided to make something for my husband, who does so much for me.

I started with a boy’s argyle sweater, made from fine merino wool.  There’s a small hole in it. Or is there?  Perhaps the young man who received it, refused to wear it.  Has argyle made a comeback yet?

This is a wonderful way to recycle a sweater and anyone can do this.  If you live in a cold climate, your feet are cold or the floor is cold, do this.  It doesn’t take long at all.  Here’s the how to-

knitted socks on the old sweater

knitted socks on the old sweater

I folded the heel down and am planning a pair of tube socks.  I used the waistband for the top of the tube.

Pinned on

Pinned on

I pinned the knitted socks onto the front and back of the sweater without stretching any of the materials.

pinned

pinned

It’s not rocket science or brain surgery.  Don’t worry if the alignment isn’t perfect.

just sleeves now

just sleeves now

I cut around the knitted sock, not stretching anything, just keeping to about 1/2 to 3/4 inches outside of the pinned sock. I’m left with sleeves and a collar.  I can get something nice out of these sleeves.

basted

basted

I basted the two layers together, using a red thread.  It’s easy to see and I want to be able to make a good fit for him.  Mark tried this one on and it fit like a glove.

A pair in progress

A pair in progress

Once satisfied, the zigzag setting, twice over did the trick and I trimmed closely, leaving a scant seam.

Fun socks

Fun socks

Made in a jiffy for a good husband, one of a kind, fine merino wool sweater socks.

out in the garage

out in the garage

Mark said they’re luxurious!

Another view

Another view

Helpful hints:

  1. Don’t stretch the knits at any point.  Be careful when turning around the toe.
  2. Use a needle appropriate for knitted fabrics.
  3. Thin, fine wool, cashmere, cotton knit will work best.
  4. Try this at home.
  5. Bring argyle back.
