A very clear look at some of the fabrics in my “vintage” lap sized quilt.

Seems to me, most people don’t wear or use the color orange very often.  It’s beautiful with blue and I had to collect vintage feedsacks, dressmaker’s fabrics and rescue some old quilt tops for a couple of years before I had the variety I needed to create this lap sized quilt top.  It’s one of my favorites.

I’m not usually fond of  making quilts of bright colors, and when I do make a quilt with brights, it’s generally for someone else.  Part of the fun of quilting, though, is choosing the fabrics that will work together.  To balance a quilt, I have to find fabrics that vary in tone, pattern, scale and other factors.

Showing the overall pattern.

 When I’m making a quilt, I’m enjoying the process of taking bits of color and turning those bits into an organized design, or one that is organized and playful! Choosing a pattern, size, cutting the pieces and putting it all together isn’t unlike the process I use when I create one of my pressed floral designs. My paper sculptures are a bit different, being more intuitive, but have to please my eye, as well.

Your eyes should follow certain light and dark sections, as well as notice the orange bits that jump around the quilt.

Center of quilt.

The large scale print of blue tulips with orange on a white background (easily seen above) was one full feedsack, likely from the 40’s.  With it, I created a circular pattern around the top, to balance the blue print shown below.

Alternating blue blocks, vintage dressmaker’s cotton.

The pieced blocks have many different names, but the one I use is Yankee Puzzle.  With a limited amount of fabric scraps, I found a way to make a complete top, using the feedsack and dressmaker’s fabric as well as the scraps and a bit of vintage yardage.

close up of some of the old fabrics

The pansy fabric in the upper middle left was a scrap of feedsack, and my favorite print in the whole quilt.   The bottom right, orange circles fabric came from a damaged top, and could be old feedsack.  You also get a look at the solid blocks, that I mentioned earlier.  And I HAD to add paisley, which was vintage yardage.

Overall picture

And now, the quilting-

quilt pattern on the blocks with no piecing

quilting pattern on the un-pieced squares, showing neighboring pattern

quilting pattern on the pieced Yankee Puzzle blocks

The quilt has a thin cotton batting inside, an off white backing and binding.  It was machine quilted and the binding attached by machine and then hand sewn on the reverse.

Quilts made this way aren’t considered vintage quilts, only made with vintage fabric.  The age of a quilt is determined by the youngest fabric, and in this case, about ten years old.  So, though it may seem to be a vintage quilt, it’s a modern quilt, made with vintage and modern fabrics.

I made a sleeve for this quilt and hang it on the wall.  I enjoyed working a splash of color and can admire the variety of patterns from the not too distant past.

Many manufacturers have reproduced fabrics from the old feedsack days.  I prefer the genuine article.

Your comments or questions are happily answered!

 

