When I was a kid, I wanted to stop biting my nails.  I did it on my own by limiting my biting to nine fingers and left the other one alone.  Then, every few days or so, I’d drop another finger.  Before too long, I was down to just one thumb.

I stopped and never bit another fingernail.  Of course, biting one’s nails is really gross and disgusting, and kids tend to do it out of anxiety or not knowing what to do with themselves or their hands. I just didn’t like the idea because I saw how chewed up some kids fingers got and it made me feel “oooky.”  (my own word for being a little sick to my stomach)

What’s the point?  If you haven’t figured it out by now, it’s to let you know that even small changes can result in BIG rewards. Thoughtful Thursday’s focus is on a small change you can make, and you’ll be glad you did.  As a bonus, you’ll get one of my kitchen tips –

rBST is a genetically engineered growth hormone made by Monsanto Corporation and just might be in your milk, cheese, ice cream, yogurt, etc…

When buying dairy products, be sure to look for words such as these – “our cows are never injected with hormones” or “our dairy never uses rBST” or something of the sort.  You’ll also see a sweet little note from the FDA, who are essentially pimping for Monsanto Corporation – stating that there is no significant difference in the product between cows injected with rBST or cows not given rBST. 

Good ol’ FDA… 😦

What do I say about that?  What a pile of bullshit. There’s lots of information out there on this hormone, I’m just one woman.  Click the link below for a full explanation. If you want to start small, as I suggest, here’s an excerpt from the link-

rbst.htm

Why should we be concerned about rBGH / rBST?


“Increased cancer risk: When rBST is injected into a cow, it elevates levels of another powerful growth hormone, IGF-1, which is present in both cows and humans. IGF-1 is a necessary hormone, but in excessive amounts, it has been linked in hundreds of studies to an increase in breast, prostate, colon, lung and other cancers in humans.

Numerous scientific data suggest IGF-1 in milk survives human digestion and enters the bloodstream in sufficient quantities to potentially trigger increased cancer rates.


Antibiotic resistance: Cows given rBST experience statistically higher rates of mastitis, a painful udder infection. It is treated with antibiotics such as penicillin, amoxicillin and erythromycin, which are also used to treat infections in people. Bacteria resistant to these antibiotics end up in the milk, air, soil and water, resulting in increased antibiotic resistance in humans, a major health problem.


Harm to cows: In addition to mastitis, rBST has been demonstrated to increase the incidence of 15 different harmful effects to cows’ health, including birth disorders, increased pus in milk, hoof problems, heat stress, diarrhea, and other gastrointestinal disturbances.
The Humane Society of the U.S., Humane Farming Association, Farm Sanctuary and Animal Protection Institute all oppose the use of rBST.”

There’s plenty of information out in regard to rBST.  Buying dairy products from cows not treated with rBST cost little or no more than products from cows TREATED with rBST.

This is something to look for!

If you have a choice between milk without pus or milk with pus, which would you choose?  Sorry for the shock treatment, but – you have to know. I may lose readers, but ultimately, this could save someone’s life.

Thought the milk itself is not genetically modified, the growth hormone is. And just as a human mother passes what she eats, drinks and breaths through to her nursing infant, so does the cow, to the human who consumes that milk.

Educate yourself and take a step to protect yourself and your family. Hazards are everywhere and by taking one step at a time, you can increase the odds for a healthy life for you and your loved ones.

One great film you should watch is “The Future of Food.”  Please watch.

Now my TIP-  Opening a can of cranberry sauce, tomato paste or refried beans?  If you open one end, put the open end over the pot, plate or pan you’d like the contents to be, and open the other end!  Voila!  The contents will slide right out, clean as a whistle!  😀

Unfortunately, I don’t use my own tip much anymore, though I still open refried beans every now and then.  I make my own cranberry sauce.  I will buy organic tomato products, though and make most of my tomato sauces from “scratch.”

