The BLM (Bureau of Land Management) recently held a Wild Mustang and Burro adoption event here in Crescent City at the Fairgrounds.  It was one of the most successful and surprising, with less than 8000 residents and the smallest county in the state of California.  Seven animals adopted out, approximately  40 brought  in for the event. Two came back in from Humboldt county from previous adoption events –  the folks stated that the responsibility was more than they could handle.  It was the right thing to do.

I honed in on a black gelding,  a yearling.  I crouched for a long time at the edge of the corral he was in with three more Mustangs, nervously munching on hay.  A BLM assistant came by and asked if I had any questions.  I said, “No, I’m just waiting for him to knock on my door.”  The assistant laughed and said, “By Sunday, he will be.”

If only.  I have reached my animal limit in terms of money, space and time.  Three are equine, shown here.  Please full screen the videos; they’re fun and entertaining! Starlight is the Shetland pony, (paint)  Brandy, my older class B miniature Appaloosa, and then there’s Amadeus….  🙂

Today, I honor the horse.


I bless the hoss from hoof to head –
From head to hoof, and tale to mane! –
I bless the hoss, as I have said,
From head to hoof, and back again!
~James Whitcomb Riley

A horse loves freedom, and the weariest old work horse will roll on the ground or break into a lumbering gallop when he is turned loose into the open.  ~Gerald Raferty


A lovely horse is always an experience…. It is an emotional experience of the kind that is spoiled by words.  ~Beryl Markham


The essential joy of being with horses is that it brings us in contact with the rare elements of grace, beauty, spirit, and fire.  ~Sharon Ralls Lemon


Somewhere in time’s own space
There must be some sweet pastured place
Where creeks sing on and tall trees grow
Some paradise where horses go,
For by the love that guides my pen
I know great horses live again.
~Stanley Harrison


