St. George Reef Lighthouse

St. George Reef Lighthouse (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There’s so much to enjoy here in Del Norte county, Ca., and the ocean’s got a wealth of pickings for a scavenger like me.   I’ll pick up most anything of interest, including stones, rocks, shells, bones, driftwood, fossils, feathers and anything unusual.  While I’m picking, I can watch sea birds, see prey birds, listen to seals and sea lions and take in the salty, clean air. Occasionally, I’ll get a  glimpse of a few turkey vultures. Favorite beaches are Point St. George, Battery Point, and Pebble Beach.

Point St. George beach at low tide-I love it here.

In March of 2011, the Japanese Tsunami caused a surge in Crescent City, destroying the docks and many boats.  A few sustained no damage.  My husband and I took large bags to Point St. George to pick up an amazing amount of trash that had washed up during low tide.  After a few Saturday mornings, most of the refuse was gone.  What washes in now is likely from fisherman letting things go…  We also see deer, elk, sea mammals and birds shot by human beings. It’s a terrible thing to see amidst such beauty. We do our part, and are grateful for the opportunity to do so. The refuse from Japan hasn’t reached our harbors and beaches yet, but we’re waiting for it.

The best time to scavenge is after a storm, when the tide’s going out, especially if I’m looking for agates or semi-precious stones or anything cool that I can learn from.  Here are a few stones and agates I picked up. I pick ’em and Mark polishes and burnishes them.  I don’t always know what they are yet, but they sure  are beautiful.

two black stones

I’m very curious about the black stones.  There’s a tremendous amount of distinction in color and weight of the black rocks and stones.  In this example, the small stone on the right has magnetic qualities and the one on the left does not.  So, at least I know that the little one is probably magnetite.

sugar agate

Before we put this agate into the  polisher, it had sparkle, like sugar crystals.  Most agates are translucent, and if we place a flashlight behind stones, we can often tell if they’re agates or not.  Dry, the stones don’t reveal what they are, until polished.

quartz and ??

There’s some elusive black stone and beautiful crystalline quartz, I believe.  I get a good vibe from this stone.

jasper

An exquisite piece of jasper and perfect for a pendant.

jasper in blue?

This is one of my favorite stones, out of hundreds I’ve found.  It’s a blue/gray with orange running through it.  Another fantastic candidate for jewelry, but I’m content to simply enjoy it as is. Blue agate or jasper is fairly hard to find.

agatized wood

I believe this is a beautiful agatized wood, and a work of art from nature. I’ve not seen another one like it in years.

agatized bone?

Perfectly shaped, fossilized or agatized bone.

rare limb cast agates

For certain, the agate on the right is a limb cast, and holds an embedded pebble or another agate.  I haven’t tried to remove it.

exquisite jasper #1

This piece of jasper appears as two stones in one!  It was extremely difficult to photograph so that you could get a good look at the color.  It’s part of my “special” collection.

Jasper view #2

This is the same stone as above, just photographed on the “bottom.”

pretty little thing

Could be jasper with other minerals.  I really like the striations on stones, and am drawn to them.

I hope you enjoyed the little geology selection.  Thanks for stopping by!

