English: Leo Tolstoy at his desk

English: Leo Tolstoy at his desk (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I finally hit someone’s nerve, and the someone left a glowing comment for me.  I trashed it, but I thought it a good opportunity to add a bit about me. The comment was “You’re a b…..”  I don’t like the word, so I won’t spell it out.

I’ve been called the “B” word two or three times in my life, at least that I’m aware of.  Because of who I am, what I say, think, do or write about and my acerbic wit and point of view,  I knew it was  a matter of time before I got a comment like the one mentioned and discussed the possibility with my husband several times.  “I’m gonna piss someone off,”  I told him.  We agreed.  I only know how to be true to myself and that’s exactly what I want.

“Art is a microscope which the artist fixes on the secrets of his soul, and shows to people these secrets which are common to all.”  Leo Tolstoy, Diary

I can’t guess at what your agenda is, and even if you state it, I still wonder, and do I assume that all written words are the truth?  Not possible.  I like to read,  challenge my ways of thinking, and am open to a new point of view or a unique way of looking at most anything.   If I find that your posts enrich my life, stimulate my thought process, entertain or educate me,  or bring me a moment of peace or happiness,  I’ll continue.

I’m not here for a popularity contest.  I like it when you “like” my post, and I have no way to know if you really do like it or if you just want me to know you’ve been here.  Either way, I appreciate it.  Comments,  let me know that I’m not the only one reading my writing.  If I have 1 follower or 1000 followers, it matters little.  With each word I write, I hone my writing skills, and find my true voice.

“It is the function of art to renew our perception. What we are familiar with we cease to see. The writer shakes up the familiar scene, and as if by magic, we see a new meaning in it.”  Anais Nin

As a child, I lived in the dictionary.  Words gave me comfort and a place to “go.”  As I held the large, heavy book, played with the words and definitions, and  studied the tiny illustrations, I felt a good spirit over my shoulder, looking out for me.  I knew that words would always be a part of my life, in no small way. Recalling this now, brings tears to my eyes and wrenches my heart.

Everybody wants to feel that you’re writing to a certain demographic because that’s good business, but I’ve never done that … I tried to write stories that would interest me. I’d say, what would I like to read?… I don’t think you can do your best work if you’re writing for somebody else, because you never know what that somebody else really thinks or wants.”  Stan Lee

