“Love me or hate me, both are in my favor… If you love me, I’ll always be in your heart… If you hate me, I’ll always be in your mind.” William Shakespeare.  His egotistical statement smacks of hubris. I’m sure Bill didn’t intend for the “me” in his statement to be exploited the way I plan to here.  I’m not going to apologize, either.

I’m on the fence with the cliche’ and I can’t get off. (pun optional) The cliche’ is the real ‘me’ in Bill’s boastful statement. When a cliche’ enters my brain as a visual image, it stays ” in my heart” forever and I love it, because of absolute, downright, pure comedic manifestation! Consider rednecks, pimps or seemingly ordinary adults assuming the “I’m the King of the World” posture.  Out of the gene pool, okay? Not much to worry about – though I might have a small concern because I’m overjoyed at witnessing these and other stereotypes and laughing so hard that I’m suddenly wondering when I’m going to get to my dresser for a change of undergarments…

On the other hand, some cliches deserve to be hated.  One of the most disturbing cliches is the “do what you love and the rest (or the money) will follow.”  Bill was right again!  I hate that cliche’ and it sticks in my head like a piece of old gum on the bottom of a cracked formica table in a cruddy diner. It’s the biggest serving of crap I can imagine.   No second helpings please – I can barely stomach the first course.

Do what you love and the rest will follow?  What rest?  I love to go to the ocean, smell the sea air and do some beach combing.  What’s going to follow me there?  Eternal rest?  If that’s what’s following me, I’m not ready for it.  I still have shit to do. Get lost. I don’t want to rest – I’m having too much fun. Cliche’ my ass.

If I explore the ‘do what you love and the money will follow’ variation of the cliche’, I’m still going to hate it   What infuriates me is that I HAVE been finding money, doing  what I love. There are gentle walks, taking hikes at the ocean or wooded trails, or strolls in the neighborhood that need some loving attention. Money’s been following me, though, in the form of twenty-five cent pieces! I’ve tried using the number twenty-five as my lucky number, and haven’t noticed any substantial sum following me lately…Those quarters are a cheap trick.

If cliches could talk, they’d be spouting off the same words William Shakespeare did, complete with divided duty.  I’ll stay out of favor, thank you, by being hidden behind my cheesy, homespun white elephant I keep in the cabinet for emergencies.

