The daily special? Hmmmm…  Defined simply, an oxymoron is a figure of speech which contains two contradictory terms.  From the Greek, oxy translates in English to sharp and moron translates to dull. I could stretch that translation around a bit to mean smart (sharp) and stupid (dull).  Just another figure of speech?  Noooooo…..

The word  is a perfect example of itself!  A deliberate mistake? I’m absolutely unsure about that. However, if I were to make an educated guess, I’d say it’s fairly obvious that the word oxymoron, has a one hundred percent chance of being an oxymoron!

May I ask a question?  Have you heard that Andy Warhol said, “I’m a deeply superficial person?”  Or this, attributed to Samuel Goldwyn, “I’ll give you a definite maybe.”  Oxymora permeate our language like a long recess for a private citizen.  We don’t realize that the sneaky oxymoron’s here, when we have  a friendly argument over green oranges, or we head out to infinity and beyond.

Quite often, I hear people say that someone they know, knew, or heard about, turned up missing. This has to be one of the most irritating oxymora ever invented.  How the ‘ell does someone “turn up missing?”  If I visualize this “turning up missing,” I see a person standing on their head, which is, of course, another oxymoron!  I don’t like that method of “turning up,” so how about I visualize the missing person as going from face down to face up? The missing person can “turn up” somewhere THIS way, even if we can’t see it happen.  And if we DO see this turning up, and they’re missing, then the missing must suddenly become invisible before our eyes!  I don’t get it.  It’s a new classic.

If you enjoy the oxymoron, then have fun with this fine mess and count all the oxymora I’ve used in this post.  All it takes is a little common sense.

Your counts and comments appreciated!

